We have two advisory panels, our Higher Education Advisory Panel and our Disability Experts Panel. Both panels enable us to access advice on issues related to our casework.

Higher Education Advisory Panel 

We can consult our Higher Education Advisory Panel on general questions of practice in the higher education sector. This helps us to keep in touch with the sector and understand common practice in providers.

The panel is made up of experienced provider and students' union staff who we select through an interview process.

We may ask advice from the whole group or we may approach individual members who have particular expertise in a certain area. We do not have to follow any advice the panel may give.

The panel does not see or make decisions on individual complaints.

The current panel members are:

  • Zoë Allman, Associate Dean (Academic), De Montfort University
  • Mandi Barron, Head of Student Services, Bournemouth University
  • Claire Blanchard, Partnership Lead, University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Dr Mark Hollingsworth, Director of Registry and Academic Affairs, University of Birmingham
  • Charlotte Levy, Registrar, Royal Academy of Dance
  • Carmen Neagoe, Head of Educational and Teaching Support, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge
  • Melissa Reilly, Sexual Violence and Harassment Response Manager, The University of Manchester
  • Cat Turhan, Representation and Advice Manager, Imperial College Union
  • Nicholas Whitehouse, Coordinator, Mixed Economy Group
  • Sarah Wilmer, Student Adviser, Leeds Beckett Students' Union

Disability Experts Panel

We can consult our Disability Experts Panel on a broad range of disability issues.

The panel is made up of disability practitioners, experts in disability matters and members with significant experience of working with disabled students in higher education. The panel meets every six months to discuss current issues as well as case studies referred for discussion by our case-handlers.

The panel does not see or make decisions on individual complaints.

The current panel members are:

  • Hannah Abrahams, Secretary and Mental Health Advisor and Mentor, University Mental Health Advisors Network (UMHAN) and City, University of London
  • Harriet Cannon, Disability Advisory Team Manager, University of Leeds
  • Antony Chuter, Chair, Pain UK
  • Gemma Carr, Senior Programme Officer, Mentally Healthy Universities Programme, Mind
  • Martin McLean, Education and Training Policy Advisor (Post 14), National Deaf Children’s Society
  • John Milligan, Team Leader, Visually Impaired Children, Young People & Families Virtual School Sensory Support; Representative from VIEW
  • Levi Pay, Director and Principal Consultant, Plinth House Ltd
  • Lynn Wilson, Operations Manager, National Association of Disability Practitioners (NADP)